Original 6 Hockey Teams

The Original 6 Hockey Teams refer to the six teams that comprised the National Hockey League (NHL) from 1942 – 1967 before the first league expansion. The oldest of the original six hockey teams are the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens who both joined the NHL in 1917.

In 1924, the Boston Bruins joined the league and were followed by three more American teams in 1926; the New York Rangers, Detroit Red Wings and Chicago BlackHawks. There were other teams in the NHL during the 1920′s (Pittsburgh Pirates, Ottawa Senators, Montreal Maroons, and the New York Americans), but the Original 6 refers to the 6 NHL teams who existed prior to the 1967 expansion season.  All 6 teams still exist in the National Hockey League today and their current records are indicated in the above standings, as if they were still in the same division.

Original6Hockey.com is a fan site honoring the Original 6 Hockey Teams and is not affiliated with the National Hockey League (NHL) or it’s affiliates.